• senger

    The Six Pillars of Character is a framework we use for teaching good character. It's composed of six characteristics that we encourage students to apply in their everyday lives: Trustworthiness; Respect; Responsibility; Fairness; Caring; and Citizenship. The link to the Six Pillars of Character website is here.​

    Bogert's character education program uses a comprehensive approach and incorporates the following initiatives:

    -Second Step
    -Second Step: Bully Prevention Unit
    -Caught Being...Monthly Student Recognition Program
    -Six Pillars of Character
    -Care to Share
    -Guidance visits

    Character.org, a leading character education association, provides us with the framework of the 11 principles of character education. We use these principles to help guide our comprehensive character education program. The link to Character.org is here.

    - Second Step

    Bogert School uses the Second Step character education curriculum to teach students about social emotional learning. Classroom teachers and/or the guidance counselor teach lessons about once a cycle over the course of the year. While this program is only one aspect of our comprehensive approach to teaching children about interpersonal skills, conflict resolution, bullying and handling their emotions, it does provide us with a formal structure for doing so. The link to the Second Step program is here.​